Scientific Reviewing and The NAS Award for Excellence in Scientific Reviewing
Co-sponsored by Annual Reviews, Thomson Reuters and The Scientist in honor of J. Murray Luck

Presented since 1979 to recognize authors whose reviews have synthesized extensive and difficult material,
rendering a significant service to science and influencing the course of scientific thought.

Essays on  Scientific Reviewing

Proposal for a new profession ~  Scientific Reviewer

Why don't we have Science Reviews?

So you wanted more review articles --
ISI's new Index to Scientific Reviews (ISR) will help you find them.

ISI's "New" Index to Scientific Reviews (ISR):
Applying Research Front Specialty Searching to the Retrieval fof the Review Literature

Reviewing Review Literature. Part 1. Definitions and Uses of Reviews

Reviewing Review Literature. Part 2. The Place of Reviews in the Scientific Literature

Awardees of the 
NAS  Award  for Excellence in Scientific Reviewing

Roger W. Hendrix (2009, genetics)
Hendrix's reviews, overviews, and minireviews have focused research in the areas of structure, assembly, and genomics of bacteriophages and include numerous original and provocative ideas.

Alejandro Portes (2008, social and political sciences)
For contributions to the understanding of immigrant and transnational communities through penetrating reviews in the areas of immigration, education, globalization, and social capital.

Geoffrey R. Burbidge (2007, astronomy)
For contributions as editor of The Annual Review of Astronomy from 1974 to 2004, using his vast knowledge to make it the premier astronomy review journal worldwide.

Peter Vitousek (2006, environmental science)
For his scholarly and inspirational book and reviews on nitrogen cycling and its role in the evolving patterns of ecosystem productivity and diversity.

Daniel L. Schacter (2005, psychology)
For his numerous books and reviews, which illuminate and explain the psychology and neuroscience of human memory for specialists, scientific colleagues, and the public. 

Donald G. Truhlar (2004, chemical physics)
For his incisive reviews on transition-state theory, potential energy surfaces, quantum scattering theory, and solvation models, which have informed and enlightened the chemical physics community for a generation.

Stuart H. Hurlbert (2003, ecology)
For his lively reviews of species diversity, experimental design, keystone species, and other issues in ecology, which have shaped the work of generations of ecologists.

Roy G. D'Andrade (2002, anthropology)
For his creative synthesis of intersections of anthropology with psychology and his insightful interpretations of historical trends shaping the future goals of anthropology.

Milton W. Cole (2001, materials science)
For his valued reviews and monographs which have critically assessed and inspired novel research concerning electrons and films at surfaces.

Charles F. Stevens (2000, neuroscience)
For his numerous "News and Views" articles in Nature that, for more than a decade, reviewed nearly all the major advances in molecular neuroscience.

James M. Poterba (1999, economics)
For his influential and comprehensive review of factors determining the savings of individuals over their lifetimes and the private accumulation of wealth for retirement.

James R. Holton (1998, geology/geophysics)
For his landmark reviews which have become the primary cornerstones of the current understanding of dynamical meteorology of the earth's stratosphere for both researchers and students.

Paul Harvey (1997, evolutionary biology)
For his many influential reviews embracing all aspects of evolutionary biology, and particularly for bringing evolutionary perspectives to other areas of biological investigation.

Jeffrey S. Banks (1996, social/political sciences)
For his influential reviews of work on the theory of games of incomplete formation, theory of automata, and the theory of repeated play games as they apply to political relationships, as well as for his extensive editorial work.

Robion C. Kirby (1995, mathematics)
For his list of problems in low-dimensional topology and his tireless maintenance of it; several generations have been greatly influenced by Kirby's list.

Thomas M. Jessell (1994, developmental biology)
For his contributions, by writing and editing reviews, to bridging the fields of developmental neurobiology and developmental biology.

Janet T. Spence Receives the 1993 NAS Award for Excellence in Scientific Reviewing

Robert T. Watson of NASA Receives (1992) NAS Award for Scientific Reviewing of Stratospheric Ozone Dynamics

Shedding New Light on the Photosynthetic Process. Alexander N. Glazer Receives the 1991 NAS Award for Excellence in Scientific Reviewing

The 1990 NAS Award for Excellence in Scientific Reviewing Goes to James N. Spuhler for Reviews in Cultural and Biological Anthropology

The 1989 NAS Award for Excellence in Scientific Reviewing Goes to Sidney Coleman for His Reviews in Theoretical Physics

Of Sea Snails and Science Reviews: Neurobiologist Eric R. Kandel Receives the 1988 NAS Awards for Excellence in Scientific Reviewing.

The 1987 National Academy of Sciences (NAS) Award for Scientific Reviewing goes to Gardner Lindzey for Reviews in Social Psychology, Personality Psychology, and Behavioral Genetics

The 1986 NAS Award for Excellence in Scientific Reviewing Goes To Virginia L. Trimble for Her Reviews in Astronomy and Astrophysics

The 1985 NAS Award for Excellence in Scientific Reviewing goes to Ira Herskowitz for his Reviews of Phage Biology

The 1984 NAS Award for excellence in scientific reviewing: E.R. Hilgard receives sixth award for his work in psychology

The 1983 NAS Award for Excellence in Scientific Reviewing goes to Michael Ellis Fisher for his reviews of the Theory of Equilibrium Critical Phenomena

The 1982 NAS Fourth J.M. Luck Award for Excellence in Scientific Reviewing Goes to Victor McKusick for his Mapping of the Literature in Human Genetics

The 1981 NAS James Murray Luck Award for Excellence in Scientific Reviewing: John S. Chipman Receives Third Award for his Reviews in Economics

The 1980 NAS James Murray Luck Award for Excellence in Scientific Reviewing: Conyers Herring Receives Second Award for his work in Solid-State Physics

The (1979) NAS James Murray Luck Award for Excellence in Scientific Reviewing: G. Alan Robison receives the first award for his work on Cyclic AMP